A stronger voice for the regions from 2022!

The Legault government has committed to tabling a bill on the reform of the voting system on October 1, 2019 and we congratulate it.
Cette reform should be an opportunity to further recognize that governments are close to the MRC and municipalities as real governments responsible and autonomous. For this, electoral reform must strengthen the political weight of the regions and maintain the close relationship between citizens and their MPs.

We believe that the introduction of greater proportionality of results as well as more pluralism will strengthen our democracy and give elected municipal representatives from Quebec regions an opportunity to be heard more easily in the National Assembly. and to the government. The compensatory mixed proportional system with regional lists will allow us to have direct access to a diversity of MPs in both local and regional ridings. All those elected and elected will have an interest in working together to better serve their constituents and thus represent the will and interests of their people.

It is important to reaffirm the territorial anchoring of our democratic system and above all to guarantee citizens, whether they live in a major city or in a region, that their voice truly counts. For 120 years we have been talking about electoral reform in Quebec. It’s time to take action. We believe that the government has the legitimacy and the means to act to implement the reform of the voting system in the general election of 2022, as solemnly promised.

However, we wish to remind Premier Legault that such a historic step forward for democracy in Quebec will only be achieved if the government gives itself the means to achieve its ambitions. Indeed, the new demarcation of the electoral territory that the reform entails makes it indispensable to allocate additional resources to deputies and deputies, in terms of budget and number of offices, so that they can meet the growing demands of elected and elected municipal officials. . That is how we will build together a truly representative and just democracy in Quebec.

Pascal Binet, Mayor of Adstock (Chaudière-Appalaches)

Jean-François Delisle, Councilor of Thetford Mines (Chaudière-Appalaches)

Éric Forest, former Mayor of Rimouski (Bas-Saint-Laurent) and former President of the Union of Quebec Municipalities

Mario Fortin, Mayor of Plessisville (Center-du-Québec)

Diane Lavoie, Mayor of Beloeil (Montérégie)

Maxime Pedneaud-Jobin, Mayor of Gatineau (Outaouais)

Marc-André Plante, Mayor of Terrebonne (Lanaudière)

Réjean Porlier, Mayor of Sept-Îles (Côte-Nord)

Suzanne Roy, Mayor of Sainte-Julie (Montérégie) and former President of the Union of Quebec Municipalities

Colette Roy-Laroche, former Mayor of Lac-Mégantic (Estrie)

Guillaume Tremblay, Mayor of Mascouche (Lanaudière)

Local information matters to me and I want to participate in the future of my life.

Share Button
Previous Article
Next Article